AXM Falcon 9 v1.2 or “Full Thrust” in 1:100 scale

The Falcon 9 rocket that launched the Second OrbComm OG2 Satellite and a cluster of 11 small satellites was an upgraded version called “Full Thrust” or v1.2. This new design facilitates booster reusability for a larger range of missions including delivery of large commsats to geosynchronous orbits. The main external difference between the new version and the v1.1 is the height of the rocket. The second stage and Interstage have been enlarged for that reason.

image

Grid Fins design has been revised for the new v1.2

image

V1.1 (left) and v1.2 (right)

image

Comparison of both Falcon 9 versions showing the height difference of the Second Stage and Interstage sections.

Download file: (Update)

AXMfalcon912OrbcommOg2

Get all the previous Falcon 9 v1.1 rockets:
Falcon 9 v1.1 Commercial missions

12 responses to “AXM Falcon 9 v1.2 or “Full Thrust” in 1:100 scale

  1. Spotted a small marking error, I think: you show a small piece of equipment (a camera, I think?) on the interstage, just left of the “9”, that is present on one side but not the other.

    While this seems to have been correct previously, since you can see a protrusion catching the light in the DSCOVR launch (https://www.flickr.com/photos/spacexphotos/16511407248/) and somewhat more clearly while erecting CRS-5(https://www.flickr.com/photos/spacexphotos/16513369059/), it seems to be absent even though we see both sides of OG2 in the before (https://www.flickr.com/photos/spacexphotos/23660653516/) and after (https://www.flickr.com/photos/spacexphotos/23985921532) shots (closeup at http://i.imgur.com/HBz5VPsh.jpg). These photos definitely show different sides of the OG-2 rocket, because the cross shaped port beneath the flag switches from the left to the right side of the thruster pod. This can’t just be rotation/flipping of the photos (though that has definitely also happened), because the flag decal does not switch directions.

    Thanks for this fantastic resource to document the appearance details for each mission!

    • Hi Kevin,

      You are correct. When I designed the OG-2 rocket I knew I was leaving the other side of the interstate unchanged from the previous missions due to lack of photos. Now that the “before and after” photo came out I can make the appropriate correction.
      I wonder if there are more photos that show the other side of the interstage.
      Thanks again.

  2. NasaSpaceFlight has a photo of CRS-8 core on the test stand (in the SpaceX McGregor Photos and Updates thread post 481) that shows the interstage pretty well. There’s a bit of heat shimmer, but it’s clear enough to see where the major greebles moved to.

    I can’t link them because they’re in L2, but Chris Bergin would almost surely share them if you ask – I can’t be the only one who finds your modeling work invaluable to look up identifying markings!

    • Thanks Kevin! Actually I have access to L2 and will check later. Thanks for the heads up.
      You are one of the very few who has a keen eye and have pointed out those details I have missed. Thank you again.

      • Thanks . I am currently using your model of the Falcon 9.2 to build a Falcon Heavy. It is three times the work but I have to reach the Moon somehow! Will you be producing a model of Space’s Interplanetary Transport System. I do need one for my talks on “Space X – The Way to Mars!” Thank you for the fun and pleasure building your models has given me.

        Regards

        Michael Franks FBIS.

        On 28 Feb 2017 16:42, “AXM Paper Space Scale Models Blog” wrote:

        axm61 commented: “Hi Michael, Thanks for the heads up. This link is broken and belongs to my old website URL. Since I moved to the WordPress platform, my old website is now in an OLD folder. So in order to go to my SpaceXCRS-3 page, you would need to add old in between my”

      • Hi Michael,

        Yes, I will not only design the ITS but the Falcon Heavy when the time comes.
        At the moment, the ITS is a little sketchy in the details, so it would be a matter of time when more pics and diagrams are made available.

      • Wait not wait for those models.

        On 28 Feb 2017 20:01, “AXM Paper Space Scale Models Blog” wrote: > > axm61 commented: “Hi Michael, Yes, I will not only design the ITS but the Falcon Heavy when the time comes. At the moment, the ITS is a little sketchy in the details, so it would be a matter of time when more pics and diagrams are made available. ” >

Leave a comment