The ¨Pegasus¨ Barge

After a long hiatus, over 3 years, I now have come to update this model since it was originally posted on Feb 2014. This barge model is way overdue and I apologize for not completing it. I am making some changes, more realistic changes that is. I will concentrate on the barge itself and not on the SRB recovery ships as was initially planned. I have chosen the ¨Pegasus¨ barge, which is the barge that transports the External tank on its way from the Michoud factory in Louisiana to Cape Canaveral in Florida.
To start, I have uploaded the blueprint I will use to design the barge in 1:144 scale to match my Shuttle stack. The real size barge dimensions are noted on the blueprint, 260 ft x 50 ft barge. When converted to 1:144 scale, the dimensions will be 55 cm x 10.5 cm if you use the metric system. This project will also include an improved version of the External tank.

image

And here are the first printouts of the parts that make the hull and ribs of the barge.

image

For this project I’m using foam board 5 mm thick (3/16″) and card stock 110 lbs. Here are the first pictures of the underside structure of the barge.

image

Here I have put the main deck (prototype) and an External tank as a test only. The final product External tank will have more realistic features.

image

The templates for the barge floor are cut and traced on foam board in order to have one single piece.

image

The front deck floor has been cut as well and glued firmly onto the barge skeleton.

image

More pictures. The cuts made to the front deck floor are the anchor pockets.

image

image

image

image

And here’s an overall view of the whole barge structure ready to be covered.

image

Here you can see the port and starboard covers of the barge. The second photo shows a closeup of the area. Notice the numbers and rusty markings.

image

image

This is still a prototype, so during this post you will see a lot of changes being made to the model.

Here is the barge with the port and starboard skin in place. Also the front part of the barge is almost complete. I had to change the color to match the real barge color, but it is an aproximate match.

image

image

image

image

Fit testing the front part of the barge. Still little work to be done on the sides. After this the whole bottom of the barge will be added.

image

image

Because the External Tank will be placed inside the barge, the barge canopy can be removed to see the inside. It has taken me a lot of decision making into finding a way to make the canopy removable and at the same time making the model sturdy enough, specially the barge walls. This post will show how I did it.

Here are photos of the canopy sitting in a specially designed structure to keep the shape. This helps during the assembly of the canopy when gluing the inner skin.

image

And here’s the floor being added. The nice thing about the model is the interior of the barge. The details are based on photos of the barge obtained from the Internet.

image

image

Work in process……

28 responses to “The ¨Pegasus¨ Barge

  1. This is awesome…you know with my love of things that float on the sea this is particularly of interest to me…will you be also designing the tug used to move this barge around? Great start!!

    • Hi Jim,
      I can definitively make the tug after getting the necessary documentation, including dimensions, diagrams, photos.
      I’m very excited with this barge and hopefully I can pull it off with no problem in timely fashion. I think this model can be modified and converted to a R/C model. That will be awesome to see.

  2. A great subject, Alfonso. These things, players as it were on the sideline of the space endeavours, are kind of forgotten about. Great to see you putting them in a more visible place. This certainly will make into a very nice diorama, especially when there is a tug coming with it some day!

      • hey buddy can you or did you get the pic’s on the tugboat that pulls the barge I sent to you. here is the dimensions of the lou anna Guidry it was built by L&A ironworks down in Chesapeake va . and it is 57.8’/17.6 meters in length now owned by mobro marine inc.

    • hello, buddy I want to know how tall the Pegasus barge will be and I know it’s going to be 21 inches long. and when to expect more photos of it and when can I start downloading it

    • Hi Tim. Yes, I think I can have the barge ready by then. And thanks for the rest of the stuff you sent. It really helps.
      Take care.

  3. Please be patient Tim. The assembly of the Pegasus barge will resume soon. I wish I could have all the time in the world, but there’s always family and work that gets in the way.

  4. hello, just wanted to say hello, and when will a new or both updates on the Pegasus barge will be uploaded and when to expect it .

  5. Tim. I will resume working on the Pegasus barge. I’m about to release the Delta IV in 1:96 possibly tomorrow and then I’ll continue with the barge soon after.

  6. any new updates on the pegasus barge and any new pictures would love to see them

  7. hey buddy just a qiuck question on the mobile launch platform when will the srb waterpipes be done or ready for download, i want to finish that up i already have it built and i have the crawler done as well. just waiting on the srb pipes for the platform now. the more i look at it i want to finish that up ,oh one other question do you have the purge equipment for the mobile launch platform as well

Leave a Reply

